Happy Birthday!

522762_10150887351972636_1528309275_nHello everyone!

Today marks the first anniversary of this blog, and although there will be no cake and no candles, I did want to take the time to say a heartfelt thanks to all of the friends and strangers who have conspired to make my first year of blogging such a success! I’ve certainly had a blast, and I hope you have too! In the next year, I plan to continue exploring the arts, literature, and history of this amazing period, and encourage you to come along for the ride.

Thanks!
Marissa

14 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

  1. Congratulations! I’ve been following your blog for a couple of months now and it’s great! I especially like the effort to give equal weight to non-European cultures. Btw, I live in DC and I also found “Roads of Arabia” interesting.

    • Thanks! I was lucky to have studied in a department with a large number of scholars working on the mediaeval Near East, and find non-European history fascinating in general. (Although, as ergamenis is quick to point out, I need more about Africa!)

      Were you as frustrated as I was that you couldn’t take pictures in the exhibit? There were so many fantastic artefacts that I’ve seen nowhere else!

  2. That’s cool. I’m mostly interested in what I call my “four regions,” which are Europe, South Asia, the Middle East, and East Asia with some forays into Central Asia, so anything from those areas catches my interest. I’m equally interested in ancient and medieval history. Currently I’m going through a Persian history phase.

    Well, I’m somewhat used to the restrictions of Sackler, I’ve spent a good part of my last 5 years in that museum.However, if you have a phone, you can manage to take a few pictures in there. A while back, they had a Indo-Persian (Mughal, Safavid) art exhibit and I snapped quite a lot of photos of paintings with my phone for future reference.

    • That sounds great! I recently inherited a book with a huge number of colour plates of persian manuscript paintings, but I would love to be able to see the details in the originals!

Leave a Reply

